Population: 9,082
County Seat:  Belle Fourche
Square Miles: 2,266

Butte County was named from the numerous buttes which arise abruptly from the prairies in the area.  The area which now makes up Butte and Harding Counties was originally called Harding County and was created by the Territorial Legislature of Dakota in 1881.  In 1883, Butte County was created from part of Harding County.

Butte County lies in northwestern South Dakota.  There are two incorporated municipalities within Butte County; Belle Fourche and Newell.

Many people like to hike and take scenic tours of the lowlands of this part of the state. If you are interested in visting us, we encourage you to visit http://www.come2orderdc.com/rei-coupons/ where you can get discounts on the outdoor gear you may need.

Web Design by Matthew Paulson Consulting.
Admin Login